Some people believe that people who do physical work should be paid on par with the people who have high-level degrees Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, there is a public debate about the salary of people working in different fields. Some people think that people doing physical work should be paid the same as the people having a high-level degree. From my perspective, I remain unconvinced with this statement.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to my view is that physical work requires less training and education, whereas people with intellectual work have to spend a large amount of time studying to get their jobs. For this reason, if people doing physical work receive the same amount of wage with the people owning a high-level degree, the educational value will reduce in the future. That can lead to many negative aspects of education. In fact, in the US, a person has to allocate seven years of full-time studying after graduating high school to become an official lawyer. Meanwhile, a janitor usually does not need any formal higher education to find this job. As a result, it is unfair if a janitor can get the wage which is the same as a lawyer.

In addition, one explanation to support my point of view is that people with high level degree play an important role in our society because of the rare labour force in these fields. In reality, according to the statistics published in 2018 in the US, there were 310 prosthodontists. In the meantime, the number of construction workers was 7.2 million, which was much higher than the figure for prosthodontists. As this example reveals, due to the limited labour force to replace them, people with high-level degree have the right to get the higher salary compared with people doing physical work.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that people with high-level degree should be paid higher than people doing physical work.