Some people believe that a person’s intelligence is inherited from the parents, while others believe that their environment is the main factor. Discuss these views. Which factor do you think is mostly responsible for intelligence?

The intellectual development of people has always been a puzzling question. Some people claim that one’s intelligence is transmitted genetically, while others think that intellectual abilities depend on the environment. These two sides will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, it seems quite logical that a child’s intellectual abilities are defined by the combination of genes and thus inherited from their parents like appearance and traits of character. Furthermore, having conducted research, scientists proved that the total number of around 500 genes is responsible for the development of the brain and its work. Apart from that, it is quite true that many generations of talented scientists, diplomats, and writers come from one family. For instance, Mikhalkov-Konchalovskiy family in Russia produced many renowned actors and movie directors.

Conversely, there are many cases when children born from normal parents spent their early years in the wild and turned into Mauglis, unable to speak, leave alone communicate with others, as they were surrounded only by animals. For this reason, the environment seems to be quite important in one’s development. Moreover, gifted kids often come from a poor or ordinary background. For example, a famous Russian scientist and philosopher Mikhail Lomonosov, who made an outstanding contribution to the scientific development of the country in the 18th century, was from a peasant family. Nevertheless, he devoted a lot of time to studying both in Russia and abroad, which indeed was essential for broadening outlook and expanding horizons. If a peasants’ son could become one of the greatest scientists in history, any child, despite the genes they inherited, can develop necessary skills and even talents when being put in the right environment.

To conclude, I believe that while genes do transmit a part of intellect from parents to children, the environment is what plays a decisive role in one’s intellectual development.