We often hear that new technology presents a threat to our traditions. In what ways, however, can new technologies help maintain our traditions?

spreading the knowledge about them.

Modern technologies, which develop more and more each day, can be dangerous to the traditions. The problems they cause for the traditional culture and also the ways in which they can, however, help to save them will be discussed in this essay.

Looking first at the problems, there are two main issues stemming from the technological development. First of all, new technologies enhance globalization, which is known to level out differences between cultures and peoples. For example, the majority of people all over the world follows the same fashion trends and wears almost absolutely similar clothing, while national costumes are only put on for big celebrations or displayed in museums. The other concern is that many traditions die as they cannot compete with new ways of living, brought by modern technologies. For instance, writing letters or sending postcards now appears to be quite outdated, since devices such as mobile phones have made the communication much easier and faster.

Regarding the ways how technologies can help to preserve traditions, there are two major positive sides. Firstly, traditional heritage can be digitalized and stored online for unlimited time periods. The death of a language no longer means losing it forever, as songs or folklore tales in it, if recorded, can always be brought back to life. Secondly, the information about the traditional dresses, national dishes, language peculiarities or celebrations can be rapidly spread all over the world through the Internet. The more people watch the videos of, for example, the traditional Japanese shadow theater performances, the longer it will probably exist, fueled by the people’s interest.

To conclude, although technology does pose a certain threat to the traditions by blurring out distinctions and replacing the traditional lifestyle with the new one, it can still be useful by saving the traditions in the digital form and