Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Information technology has revolutionized the world, and is arguably the paramount invention of the last century; this essay is aimed at presenting valid arguments to support this thesis.

Firstly, the very omnipresence of computers in all spheres of life is the best proof of its importance. No other invention proved so versatile being used on such a wide scale both on a global level, and everyday household usage. The example of the former could be computers on space stations that provide information on the weather condition and can warn about cyclones or tsunamis help locate forest fires; all of the above-mentioned information could be crucial for saving people's lives. On the other end of the scale would be personal computers and smartwatches which can help people keep fit.

The second reason why I believe in the immense importance of computer technology is its contribution to healthcare. Medical science experienced a revolutionary breakthrough with the development of a wide range of apparatuses and gadgets which have brought research, diagnosing and treatment on an incredible level. Ultrasonic research, for instance, has given surgeons the opportunity to do laparoscopy with minimal invasion into the body. MRT can reveal the slightest changes in human organs at the very early stage, which gives people much higher chances to recover rapidly.

Some people would argue that there were some more important inventions made within the last one hundred years. For example, several people have recently completely recovered from AIDS, which was considered to be incurable. However, it is highly likely that to achieve this result researchers and doctors used cutting-edge medical equipment. Whichever recent invention we think of, most of them either have computer technologies as the intrinsic part or based on them.

To sum up, I firmly believe that there was nothing more significant invented than the computer due to its versatility opening new opportunities for mankind.