Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Bringing up children is the task almost every adult person faces in their life. The role of parents and school teachers in this process will be discussed in this essay as well as my view of the issue.

On the one hand, it is very natural for children to learn how to behave in the family. Parents or other relatives show examples, while children usually “mirror” them. If parents abide by the laws, respect elders, show empathy and compassion, also explaining why it is important, children will most probably act in a similar way. Secondly, in many countries very little children, aged up to five or seven, often do not go to schools or kindergartens, spending all their time at home, while psychologists say it is early development and learning that matters most in forming personality.

On the other hand, school is the first place where a child faces real-life situations, which might be quite challenging. Therefore, what is socially acceptable or not can be learnt there easily. For example, how to communicate with elders, how to make friends with peers, or how to resolve conflicts if they happen. Furthermore, many school subjects focus on teaching socially approved behavior patterns and ways to distinguish between good and bad. For instance, Russian literature, which is a compulsory discipline in every Russian school, is the rich source of discussion themes related to human values and social norms. (Lastly, schools often organize activities, which can influence children in a positive way. Meeting with role models, such as war veterans or famous sportsmen, can teach how to be heroic or how to achieve goals.)

In conclusion, I believe that both parents and school teachers should participate in the process of bringing children up equally, as cooperation can bring better results.