Some people believe that purchasing imported agricultural products has positive effect. Others think consuming domestic products is better. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is common belief that importing farm products from other countries is a good thing for us to do. However, there are more persuasive argument that society would benefit if customers purchased and consumed domestic goods, which would protect the livelihood of local farmers by letting prices drop to low.

On the one hand, purchasing agricultural products from abroad allow people to consume a greater variety of food items. That means, importing products that cannot be grown domestically gives local customers much more choice in the market. For example, kiwifruits are very difficult to grow in Vietnam, so few farmers are willing to plant them. This result in an extreme dearth supply of domestically grown kiwifruit. Fortunately, importing fruits such as these is very common nowadays., they are available in most markets. This makes it much easier for ordinary people to enjoy exotic fruits.

On the other hand, it is more important to protect domestic agriculture. That means, this has negative consequences for the farming industry, which is not always able to compete. Products imported from places where they grow easily are often cheaper, when these low-price products hit the market, they push prices down in a level that cannot be kept up with by local farmers. For instance, in France, where the country’s high labor and equipment costs make the price of domestically agricultural product rather expensive. When cheaper meat and dairy items import from Spain are introduced, the local farmers simply could not deliver products to market at prices that are competitive with in the import. This led to farmers going out of business.

From the analysis above, it is clear that importing items from abroad will increases customer’s choice. But it is undeniable that consuming domestic farm products should be our top priority.