Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

After finishing high school education, students have to face the dilemma of whether to get a job or pursue higher education. While some people appreciate working straight after school, I would argue that continuing the studying journey is a wiser choice.

On the one hand, it is acknowledged that taking part in labour market right after high-school graduation is an appealing option. One reason is that young workers may progress quickly. Compared to other students of the same age, they will have more opportunities to gain real experience and practice their skills related to their chosen occupations. These are key factors that contribute to a successful career. Another invaluable advantage is that many youngsters want to start making money as soon as possible. Many students, especially the poor, cannot afford the high university tuition fee; therefore, working straight after school is the best and fastest way for them to make ends meet. The sooner they work, the more financially independent they become.

On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that there is an array of benefits stemming from getting a higher education. Firstly, it provides students with more chances to become professional employees with academic qualifications. For example, it is impossible to become a teacher, doctor or lawyer without possessing a university degree. As a result, graduates can access more high-salary job opportunities than those who do not attend the university. Secondly, the job market nowadays is becoming more and more competitive and fastidious. Young people who do not get trained in university or college seem to hardly compete with others and can be at risk of being made redundant.

In conclusion, working right after high school is a good option. However, from my perspective, pursuing higher education is a much worth-considering choice because of those aforementioned reasons.