Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the world in such economic turmoil, obtaining a prospect job seems to preoccupy students. After graduating from high school, young adults face difficult choices regarding whether going to university or entering the world of work. Consequently, the degree versus work continues to be rather controversial because the benefits are hard to quantify exactly. There are valid opinions on both sides which will be analyzed in this essay.

On the one hand, supporters of high education point to open-ended career opportunities. This is because, as a job hunter, having a university degree provides a person with great opportunities to access to a wide range of professions with special requirements which he or she already met them by acquiring job-related skills at the university. Furthermore, they highlight the chance that a university student may expand a whole range of skills, ranging from time management to soft and computer skills, maximizing opportunities to land highly paid occupations.

By contrast, those who supporters the option of joining the workforce as a viable and reliable route to embark on a highly lucrative career believe that this is a straightforward way to earn money. In other words, while going to college requires an avalanche of funds, including tuition fees and the cost of living, starting a job or serving an apprenticeship can make young people be independent and facilitate to reach such their personal goals as having a paid job, purchasing a house and a car, and forming a family in the filing. Another reason appears to be receiving valuable on-the-job experience. Whereas university study is primarily focused on education and research (i.e., a theory-based approach), gaining hands-on experience is brought by joining a career, making young job seekers have the practical skills required and appreciated in today's economy.

To conclude, it would appear to be advisable that the decision regarding whether to pursue education or set up a business should be based on personal preferences rather than on general view.