Some people believe that teenagers should concentrate on school subjects, while others claim that students should focus on the subject that they are best or they find interesting

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Over years, there has been a widespread assumption that students should do their best on all subjects at school; however, some think that exclusive concentrating on their favourite subjects is likely to bring more benefits. From my point of view, while the former is beneficial to some extent, it is better to do the latter.

Focusing on every subject at school is advantageous to some extent. In fact, learning all school subjects gives students a deeper insight into many fields such as history, geography, math or literature, which helps them have a better view of the world compared to students concentrating on one or two subjects. For example, a future scientist who acquires more than two languages has more opportunities to gain knowledge about other scientific projects because there are some important records solely written in foreign languages. However, trying the best on many subjects is likely to bring some side effects, which is due to the limited amount of time. It inevitably takes a lot of time to focus on too many subjects, which reduces the amount of free time to relax and refresh themselves. This eventually ruined mental health, causing depression or sleep deprivation and caused many physical diseases symptoms such as heartaches or headaches.

On the other hand, there are many reasons why exclusive focusing on favourite subjects brings more advantages. One reason is that it is easier for teenagers to choose their career path in comparison to students learning lots of subjects because they obviously have more time to be well-prepared for particular things. One reliable example of this statement is that there has been an increase in the number of gap-year-graduates, which results from not knowing what they good at and what they really like. Another reason is that some subjects are not actually supportive for their future job, which takes a lot of time to study. For instance, students have to spend a large amount of time on memorizing dates, historical events in history textbooks, which is not likely to be used when they plan to specialize in technology or science

In conclusion, while somebody can gain certain advantages by concentrating on all school subjects, it is better to focus on their own favourable ones.