Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this modern society, punishments are an inevitable part in a country's law system on the grounds that they ensure the safety of citizens and make criminals realize their inappropriate behaviours. Many people say that for any kind of crime, there should be a fixed punishment to follow, while others claim that this depends on the circumstances and other factors affecting the crime as a whole. This essay will look into both views and finally state my own opinion.

On the one hand, it is reasonable to suggest that there should be a set of punishments established beforehand for any kinds of crime. To be more specific, these laws would indeed act as a "barrier", warning people who intend to commit crimes about the possible consequences they may have to face. Another upside is that once this punishment system is clearly set, it would be easy for the authorities to determine how to deal with each criminal, as all they need to do is deciding their type of crime. In simpler terms, there will be no confusion or complex situations in which the court doesn't know how to punish those people.

Turning to the other side of the argument, sometimes special factors should be taken into consideration when deciding which type of punishment a criminal should get. What I mean is that in some unexpected situations, the circumstances of that individual, the background story which leads to the crime or so can totally change our point of view. For example, if some people are arrested for killing a person, but it turns out that was legitimate defense against attacks which could seriously harm their life, then they should receive a less serious punishment than those who murder people intentionally.

To sum up, a strict set of regulations and punishments is necessary in every country to protect their citizens from rising levels of crime. I believe, however, that in special cases, we still need to observe thing from a comprehensive perspective rather than strictly following the principles. That's why a criminal's background and the motivation behind it should be studied carefully before making any final decisions.