Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Some people suggest that the circumstances of a crime and the reason for committing it should be taken into consideration when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some of us argue whether criminals must be subject to fixed punishment for certain type of criminals actions, or whether the situations and the motivation for a crime should be taken into account. This essay will discuss both views and outline my opinion on the given issue.

On the one hand criminal activities have reduced significantly in number over the history of a humankind with the incentives of some fixed punishment methods such as death penalty and life imprisonment for drug trafficking. Moreover, this factors deter many criminals of such heinous crimes as mentioned above. For example, in many Arabian countries for crimes like burglary there is a fixed punishment like hand amputation even regardless the stolen thing. That’s the mail reason why Arabian states are considered to have the lowest index of crime in the world.

On the other hand, to punish the criminals irrespective the incentives and the circumstances of the crime committed is also considered unfair to some extent. Furthermore, each occasion related to the crime is different from one another. For instance, the burglary of a little community shop and a bank theft should not be regarded on the same level of crimes. What is more, the intentional murdery should be judged severely and punished harshly than a murdery for self-defense purposes.

In conclusion, I opine that each type of criminal activities should be assessed specifically and by taking into consideration all the factors and motives of the crime committed by the offender. This will indeed lessen the number of criminals and also lead to a safe and trial balanced society. As a result I truly believe that these ideas are the essential considerations that can encounter the social justice.