Independent

In the modern world where a myriad of books and a plethora of TV shows are dedicated to the topic “How to raise a child”, it’s still a great subject of debate whether parents should or should not establish strict rules for their children. To a question so formulated, some people, I suppose, would nod approval, while others might give a sniff of disapproval. As far as I’m concerned, I would definitely gravitate towards the opinion that making children obey their parents without giving the freedom of choice is not the wisest strategy to adopt while bringing up a child. My opinion is informed by the considerations which the paragraphs below will spell out in greater detail.

To begin with, we should agree on the dictum that the mission of parents is to get the children ready for the adult life by teaching them the skills to “survive”. Moreover, we should also agree that one of the most indispensable skills in one’s social life is that of making choices independently. To put it otherwise, the ability of making rational and sensible decisions is a “know-how” which must be developed since the early childhood of an individual. As a matter of fact, the only way of forming that very ability is to give the children a certain level of autonomy and don’t make them follow the strict rules meticulously. For instance, my mother has always gave me the opportunity to choose what I eat, dress even when I was 3 years old. When I grew older she let me decide what subjects I want to take or what university I want to apply. Consequently, I learnt to make intelligible life choices and take the responsibility for that.

To reveal yet another aspect of my stance, I insinuate that making children follow the tough rules has two major grave impacts on their personality. First and foremost, their individuality is being ignored and underdeveloped which in its turn make them feel not enough self-confident. As a result, they grow up with no belief in themselves and always in lookout of someone to take the charge of them. Furthermore, children who are always under a pressure are more keen to be aggressive towards the parents and the surrounding. This is to say that the supreme control over the youngsters might germinate resistance in them which, I believe, can lead to a unhealthy relationship between the child and the parent.

In conclusion, the spectrum of opinions people may entertain regarding whether parents should make the children obey the “rules of the game” can be extremely wide. As much of this essay has tried to demonstrate, I am convinced that giving the children some autonomy is more beneficial as they grow up to be more independent and self-confident adults with healthier relationships with their parents.