Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account then deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the idea of whether or not to fix criminal punishments has been gaining in popularity, which becomes heated debate among citizens. Although some believe that particular sort of crime should be received equal level of treatment regardless of the situation where crime is committed, others believe that individual situations and motivation should lead to various decisions.

It is clear that stable punishments benefit the government in terms of time and labor. Firstly, without considering different cases of offenders, law suits for punishments could be programmed and processed by information system. For example, some minor crime such as avoiding taxation receive nearly the same level of punishment through calculation, which facilitates the punishment decision in short time. Secondly, in case that innovative lawsuits are published, same treatments appear as more convenient to educate citizens. In reality, too detailed information acts as a deterrent for citizens to remember and apply.

However, the argument to judge particular circumstances is more likely to convince people thanks to its humane characteristic. It is undeniable that the motivation for crime commitment plays such an essential part in deciding treatments. Therefore, offenders who intentionally commit crime should not be equally treat as the ones who try to protect themselves in danger. Finally, other aspect such as ages of offenders need to be considered as well since juvenile delinquency by minors come along with low capability to control their behaviors. As a result, education appears as a more convincing approach to crime controlling.

In conclusion, although fixed treatments can save time and labor in progressing individual criminal circumstances, its counterpart seem to be a more humane approach to criminal punishment. By taking other aspects such as motivation and age of offenders into account, the humanity of law will be efficiently utilized.