Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishm

It is common scence that perpetrators will be judged and punished according to the law in democratic countries. Some people insist that entrenched punishment must apply to every crime. Whereas, others claim that the situation and consequence of a crime should be considered when convicting a criminal. This essay will discuss the two views and express the writer's opinion on this issue.

The suggestion of applying fixed sentence to each type of crime is unreasonable. For example, if two people committed the same crime of homicide and one resulted in one victim while the other caused two decease of people, the judge absolutely apply heavier punishment on the severer one. To apply the same sentence on all crime under the same category is compeletely unrational in trail. Therefore, the writer object this approach regarding crime judement and believe that there must be a realistic approach to solve the problem of appropriate sentence to criminals according their illegal conduct.

By contrast, the view that others believe accurate circumstance and result should take into consideration when deciding the punishment is comparetively reasonable. Actually, the juryprudence of convicting a respondant requires the consideration of the actual motivation, consequence and situation. The jury generates the final judement according to the comprehensive study of the case and the law. It is a more rational approach to consider all the related situation rather than merely apply a fixed sentence to all crimes in the same category.

To recapitulate, the writer appose the idea of applying a fixed punishment for each type of crime regardless of the specific circumstance of each crime. However, the writer prefers the latter approach of judging wrongdoers according to the actual commitment.