Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of High School programmes(for example, working for charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree disagree.

High school is a place of great opportunities where one can acquire skills and qualities that will help in future career. It is a popular belief by some people that unpaid community service must be a compulsory part of high school programmes. In my opinion, it should be added to the program, but with certain limitations.

To begin with, a person in high school is developing his character, and unpaid community services will help in making positive attributes in a person. For example, by working for a charity will not only enhance a students communication skills, but will also make him sympathetic towards mankind. Similarly, by improving neighborhood he will give something back to the community in which he lives. Teaching to children will not only help youngsters to excel in their lives, but by doing so, he will earn loads of respect in the community. Most importantly a pupil will understand the importance of benefiting those who cannot give anything in return, and it is the base of high moral values.

Having said this, it is also a reality that education in most countries is very expensive, and if a student doing community service will get a small amount of money which can help in giving his tuition fees. Also by making it paid will attract large number of students. Apart from this it must be added in the syllabus in such a way, so that it will not affect the studies as it must be real aim of a student.

To conclude, though doing unpaid community service will boost character building and their grooming into a sound adult. However, school authorities must devise a curriculum that satisfy this need without compromising studies. In the future too, this trend must flourish.