Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that high schools should make unpaid community service a compulsory programme. Some schools and colleges has already been providing those programmes for students to provide a platform and gain work experiences. Indeed, it is a good idea to include community services as part of the curriculum.

Students would be able to see the world in a different perspective. Most students born with privilege would not know what the world is like outside of their society. By providing community service, students would get a glimpse of how fortunate they are compared to others, making them learn how to give others. Community services are compulsory in international schools in Thailand. Students would have to take the program at least twice a year to be able to pass. There are wide ranges of activities for students to choose from – playing with orphans, fund raising for charities, and more. Thus, they would be able to meet more people, realising how fortunate they are.

With the influence of new technologies, community service provides more activities for students to do. Instead of watching television, playing computer games, or using IPads after class, community service could encourage students to enjoy activities outdoor. This could promote a healthy and active lifestyle instead of doing nothing that is useful for the society. Students would get to do physical works, encouraging them to stay active which students will become healthier.

Schools could treat community service as a way to help their students build foundations and gain work experiences. In addition, skills gained by compulsory work could be benefits for their CV; thus, increase their employability. Students would learn to cherish the skills they earned from it. Moreover, some skills acquired could be beneficial for their jobs in the future. For instance, fund raising may require students to think critically, plan, manage, or even manage their finances.

In conclusion, setting community service as a compulsory programme for high school could be beneficial for students in many ways. Students would be able to see the world in a different perspective and treat people better. Also, it would introduce students to an active lifestyle. Lastly, skills earned could be an asset for their own CV and future jobs.