Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is debatable whether it is more suitable to start learning languages as early as primary school or starting later in secondary school. There are both pros and cons for this topic, which will be discussed below.

The most common argument is that younger people tends to pick up languages easier and faster than adults do. Children tends to absorb what is introduced to them unconsciously. Their brain is still developing similarly to toddlers – that is why children could speak their mother tongue fluently. Languages being introduced in the early stages would only be beneficial for children to quickly absorb and learn the language, having more time to improve in the future.

Primary school student does not receive as much stress as secondary school students. Thus, they could learn languages without having to pressure themselves to get better as fast as possible. For example, secondary school students would have to focus more on what they want to do in the future, or universities – it would be more likely if they would want to focus on the subjects they want to pursue instead of being forced to take a language class. Taking language class in primary also could be beneficial as students could learn about the culture since young.

However, learning languages when older does not necessary means that it is bad. Although, it would take a lot more effort to be fluent, class structures are better once you develop the skills to think critically. Grammars are taught carefully from one point to another, making sure students truly understand what is going on. When primary school classes would focus on students absorbing what they learn, rather than the understanding of the subject. For instance, taking language classes in universities tend to teach students every grammatical points. Whereas students are not likely to learn every single pieces of grammar.

In conclusion, it is most common for students to start learning languages in early stages. It gives the students less stress and could easily absorb the language. However, it is not always too late to start when students are older.