Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is always good to teach children about the right and wrong while at a young age, this will help them become a better person in future. There are multiple ways to ensure these learnings. The most common one being the punishments. Many believe that punishments will make kids adhere to rules and stop them from doing anything wrong. I strongly disagree with this fact as this can have detrimental effects.

Punishment is the best example of negative reinforcement. Every student responds and reacts to this kind of treatment very differently. But it is observed that for majority of the pupils this aggravates the situation and makes it worse. If parents start indulging in punishing right from childhood, then eventually as they grow these punishments no longer hold a meaning because their mind and body is used to such kind of abuse. Moreover, some children fight back and end up doing much more bad things as they sense a need to take revenge. Additionally, the kids might picture their tutor or parent as a bad vibe and loose respect for them which in the long run will weaken the relationship.

Secondly, punishing the kids can leave them with a mental scar for life. As a result of which some students can have mental breakdowns and go into depression. Many therapists also suggest that childhood scars can give rise to trauma later in their adult life and can adversely effect other relations. Rather parents could follow positive approach like to sit with their children and make them understand the consequences of their actions and help them widen their view. This is a simple yet effective method.

In conclusion, I am of the opine that punishments can bring in a lot of ill effects for both parents and their kids and hence it is best to unfollow them.