Exposure to international media, such as films, TV and magazines, has an impact on the local culture. What do you think of these impacts?

Do you think that the advantages of these impacts outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of globalisation, exposure to worldwide news and media via TV or magazine has greatly inclined and this has a major impact on people. However, the nature of the impact may be positve or negative depending upon wide range of factors.

There are several upsides to this trend. To begin with, people are updated with the latest news from all over the world, which in a sense broadens their perspective and increase their knowledge base. Moreover, one gets to learn and understand about numerous things ranging from foreign culture and traditons to the latest technological advancements, as a result of which citizens from different parts of world began to relate with each other and eventually will bring the world closer. For instance, the movie avengers produced and directed by the western country was viewed by millions from different parts of the world. Seeing such a huge success, many local movie producers have started to venture and roll out movies based on such sci-fi genres. In a way, it has raised the standards of the entertainment.

Despite the advantages, there is a downside to it because in the process of exposing oneself to international media, the locals tend to forget about their own native culture. They start to adapt and follow the foreign traditions. The lifestyle of people vary greatly from region to region due to historical, climatic and economic factors. One of the simplest example is that, the western movies display the usage of alcohol largely, because they are based in colder regions and alcohol is a way to maintain their body temperatures, but if viewers from arid climates follow this trend then it can lead to serious health issues.

Lastly, on deeper dive, it appears that exposure to foreign media relatively brings a lot of useful things to the table and hence the advantages clearly outweigh the disadvantages.