Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports for younger children). To what extend do you agree or disagree?

As a social animal each human being has the responsibility to serve their community without expecting any reward. There are few people who believe that involving in community activities which will not pay any money must be made a compulsory part of the school carriculum. But, i think charity works , improving neighbourhood, and teaching sports activities to our younger children should be something done free of cost with our full interest than from some external forces. This essay will go through both parts in details.

On the one hand, compulsory community works in schools will give students an exposure to the society and surroundings which may not happened in their life in the past. Because there are a lot of people in our neighbourhood who lacks money and other basic needs in life, and waiting for helping hands. Money has made many bright and able students to step back from higher education and different types of sports activities. So by participating in such activities atleast once, as a compulsory move will help many needy poeple.

On the otherhand, doing charity works and free services to the society voluntarily without any compulsion from school or other individuals actually comes deeply from our heart and so will remain forever. I remember an organisation called NSS in my higher secondary schools where students are compelled to join. As a part of it, I had participated in many cleaning and construction programs free of cost. But, once i left the school i left that good behaviour also.And i realised later that compulsion from the school was the stimuli for finding times for such activities.

In conclusion, charity works are something schools should entertain and build up among students, though it should never be a compulsion. In my opinion community activities which someone do by himself and enjoy to fullest only can keep up it throughout the life.