Some people believe that young people know about international pop and movie stars but know very little about famous people from history in their own country. Why is this? How can more interest be created in young people to gain more knowledge about their own famous people from history?

Along with the growth of mass media, there are more and more people such as movie or pop stars that their fame among youngsters spread internationally. Consequently, it is believed that children nowadays only know about these stars but have very little knowledge about the historical characters in their own country. This tendency has resulted from several reasons. Luckily, there are some actions can be taken to help young people to gain more interest in their own famous people

On the one hand, there is a variety of explanations about this indifferent attitude. First of all, there is an unsuitable way of approach. There appear to be shreds of evidence that while movies or pop music are popular among teenagers, historical figures are rarely mentioned except for a few documentaries which are very jejune and dogma. In the second place is the generation gap. The major achievement of the great people has gained in the past. As a result, it is difficult for youngsters to have sympathized and admiration with the historical figures. Last but not least, young people these days are said to have a hectic lifestyle with a dense curriculum. It is self-evident that they do not have time to learn about these people. Furthermore, there is no community or forum for the youngster who is passionate about

Nevertheless, there are numerous viable solutions to raise the student's interest in this topic. The first one is to make historical figures more familiar and popular among young people through films and media shows. By way of illustrations, China's motion-picture industry is very developed thanks to its great historical and national hero films. Secondly, the government should set up museums and encourage children to visit them by subsidized their tickets. The Vietnam Museum of Ethnology, which has student discounts, is a good case in point. Finally, the school can incorporate the diversity of teaching techniques. This is shown by matching traditional teaching format with audio-visual aids or organizing educational trips to famous historical places

To sum up, the low interest in historical figures among youngsters is due to the unsuitable approach, generation gap and lack of time. However, some actions can be taken to solve this problem as making more film about this topic, establishing and discounting museums tickets or combining different teaching techniques