Some people claim that it is acceptable to use animals in medical research for the benefit of human beings, while other people argue that it is wrong. Discuss both views and give your opinion

While some people contend that vivo testing for medical purposes is satisfactory, I am of the opinion that such experimental trials on animals are unacceptable because they both violate animals’ right to live and are unethical.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some think that using animals for medical research is acceptable. The first reason is that animal testing plays an important role in the medical field. In fact, over the past few decades, there has been a wide range of medical breakthroughs in consequence of testing medicines on animals , which has saved millions of lives. For example, according to some surveys, the measles vaccine, which was developed by using animal testing, has saved over 20 million people since 2000. Another reason is that if new drugs are not tested at all or were tested on humans first, it could lead to serious consequences. For instance, some people chosen to test a new vaccine which is not tested on animals could have some serious symptoms such as shortness of breath… or even they could die.

On the other hand, I would argue that animals should not be tested for the benefit of humans. Firstly, Since animals have their own rights, their lives should be respected. This means that scientists have no moral right to use them in our research. Secondly, laboratory animals often have to be subjected to toxic substances, which can cause them pain, distress or even death. Annually, millions of lab mice, for example, become deformed or die after being subjected to such tests.

In conclusion, although some people think that medical experiments on animals for the benefit of humans, I personally believe that using animals for medical studies is not acceptable.