Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

<p style="white-space: normal;">It is often argued that the government should enhance the laws about recycling in order to protect the environment while the others hold that increasing laws would not be enough to raise awareness for the green environment. I completely disagree with this point because the government needs to bring some recycling cognizance to people before laws.</p><p style="white-space: normal;">Some people simplistically claim that recycling is insufficient and just solve this problem to be enacted the new codes. In other words, if the government increased strict laws about it, citizens would be more careful. For example, when somebody does not be interested in recycling, he or she has to pay more taxes or to be fined by the government. However, there is little evidence to support this view that increasing laws can solve this problem totally when people do not make this willingly because they have to do because of laws. Indeed, they will not pay attention to protect the environment.</p><p style="white-space: normal;">On the other hand, there is a view that firstly government should increase awareness to maintain a green environment. The proponents of this view reasonably argue that some advertising which is related to the importance of recycling can be published for individuals. For instance, they can show our nature how can be demolished because of some harmful products for the environment and because of that many animals such as fish could die. Maybe after 10 years, there will not be any fish in the sea. Besides, the government ought to give some education to children and adults to keep clean and recycle their garbages. All of them can be more useful and permanent rather than putting new codes.</p><p style="white-space: normal;">To sum up, although some people assume that increasing laws is essential to raise more recycling, the other view fairly concludes that it is not a realistic and permanent solution and first people should really want it. Also, governments should support them with some advertising and educational activities. Personally, I believe that punishments cannot improve our awareness about recycling and we already have to know the results and want to protect our habitat.</p>