Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is true that household waste are not recycled in a sufficient way, so some people believe that the sole method to raise public awareness of recycling is imposing a regulation by the government. Personally, I think recycling law is of great necessity in a society where people often do not pay their attention to this matter.

Firstly, people often do not think about the consequences of their wrongdoings towards the environment such as dropping waste at a wrong place or avoiding sending their household rubbish to collection banks to separate them. In addition, they assume that someone is paid to collect garbage from their home, so these people will take full responsibility for handling and processing their waste. Therefore, making recycling compulsory for every single household would contribute enormously to mitigating detrimental effects on the environment and our society as a whole.

Secondly, as a result of a consumer culture, we are living in a thrown-away society where people throw their items immediately if they break instead of fixing. Besides, advertisers and companies often encourage clients to follow the latest fashions; so when there are new products released on the market, people are not reluctant to get rid of their items and purchase new ones. If the government adopts a strict rule on recycling household waste, people will worry about the fine or punishments they would get, which helps to reduce the amount of rubbish significantly.

In conclusion, I am completely an advocate of the idea that the authority should make household recycling mandatory for everyone to protect the environment and save raw materials and natural resources.