Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Environmental issues have always been a heated topic and often discussed. It is claimed that people do not recycle enough waste from homes . They believed that imposing laws is the only way to increase personal recycling . From my perspective, I partly agree with this opinion due to several reasons below.

On the one hand, a strict restriction imposed on recycling behavior might be an effective way to immediately reduce a large amount of waste. According to Vietnam general statistic office, about 70% of household waste could be recycled. For example, plastic bottles, cans or paper could be transferred to recycle factory to produce new ones . Organic waste could be used as fertilizer for plants, food for pets or raw materials in manufacturing other products. In addition, having a law of classifying waste is necessary. Instead of storing everything in 1 trash can, which makes it unable to be recycled, people can classify it themselves and make these progress easier. Take japan as an example of excellence in recycling . They have laws which make them classify their own waste such as electronic devices, organic waste, solid waste, .... As a result, 70% households waste is recycled . Others is burned to produce electricity.

On the other hand, I believe that it is not the only way to increase recycling. Numerous feasible alternatives could be done to solve that problem. One of them must be education. We can teach students of how to make profitable items from household waste. For instance, plastic bottles and cans can be used to make lovely tree plots, paper can be used to make decorations,... Another alternative is to avoid using unrecyclable production like plastic bags, straws or cups. Then the recycle progress would be much more easier.

In conclusion, one of the most effective way to increase household recycling is to impose strict restrictions on the way we do to rubbish. But I believe that is not the only way solving that issue.