Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that students should learn literature from their own nation rather than from other foreign countries . In my perspective, I don’t think this is the most effective way to educate children in the current world . This essay will discuss about both two style of studying literature and illustrate my point of view.

While learning literature from one country is necessary, it might not be useful in this 4.0 era . It is said that literature is love and emotion. When you learn literature in your first language, it will give you emotions, feelings with your nation such as love, chauvinism. You will also have an insight about your country, your culture, your people and you will not be faded among others foreign friends . But if you only learn one nation literature , you will have one-sided perspective for issues; and sometimes that perspective is negative.For example, Vietnam ancient people think that women should only work in the house and serve their husband and kids. If Vietnamese hadn’t have received other points of view from other nations, Vietnam may still apply that belief into life, which is inappropriate in today world.

Learning other nations literature can make you a global citizen for today world. Learning each nation’s literature is also learn their lifestyle and culture . That is what we call cultural exchange, to receive other countries modern thoughts, style of thinking . Beside , learning other nations literature will give you a comprehensive range of knowledge as you will have different perspective for issues , which is crucial for you to have a good behavior in the modern world.

To conclude, while it is extremely important to study someone’s own literature , we should also learn a wide range of other nations literature to have a comprehensive knowledge and different perspective of happening issues in the modern life. That is what make you a global citizen.