Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Recently, owing to the problem of Global Warming, people are becoming aware of their actions on environment. One of the many ways to reduce our impact on nature in to recycle our garbage, so that it decreases our carbon footprint. However, many say that our efforts towards recycling are inadequate. Hence, the government should step in and make it a legal obligation to recycle. I completely agree with the notion that government should make laws that push people towards recycling.

Firstly, recycling, as mentioned earlier, is good for our environment. Many people, despite the knowledge of recycling, refuse to recycle simply because they find tiresome and troublseome. A law, in this case, will motivate them to recycle, due to the fact that they will not want the unintended consequences of breaking the law. For example, in city of Wakad in India, the garbage truck would not pick up the garbage, if it was not properly segregated until the proper authorities were notified and said houses or buildings penalised. This caused a change in attitude of people and more of them began following the law.

Secondly, a law can be made such that houses are given incentives like reduction of certain tax or perhaps a discount. Such a law requiring them to recycle will inspire them do it anyway, regardless of their will. For instance, in small town of Sangamner, a town in India, the municipal corporation gave one percent discount on water tax for all the residents who recycled. After this initiative, the number of people recycling increased significantly. Moreover, after few years the people asked the corporation instead of giving discount, use the money to clean the city riverfront, while still recycling, of thier own volition.

In conclusion, I believe it is our duty, as an individual and a society, to abate the damage we have done to our environment. Sometimes individual efforts are not enough. This is when the government should play its role in improving the social structure of society with the help of law.