Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument makes the hasty conclusion based on several unwarranted assumptions. If these assumption are proven invalid, then the authors argument can be seriously undermined. The author has failed to provide the data to back up these assumptions and make a sound judgement.

Firstly, the author states that since the implementation new procedure, where students measure their teacher's effectiveness, grades of the student have gone up. The author implies that reason for higher grades is falsification of grades. However, there is no data presented to support this. It may be the case that after the implementation professors have taken extra efforts in teaching, like incorporating new methods of teaching with old ones, which has resulted in greater understanding of the subject matter by students. Consequenly, they performed well in their tests. The author also mentions that the average student grades have increased by 30%. But the question is , how statistically significant is the number? It is quite possible that 30% does not correlate eith significant rise in actual grade.

Secondly, the author propounds that many employers have noticed the unusal rise in grades in the students of Omega university. Furthermore he claims that because of this fact, the student are failing in securing jobs as comapred to their counterparts from Alpha University. The author, here, has made a hasty conclusion. There may be other reason why the students can not get jobs. Perhaps the courses offered in both universities are different. It may the case that Alpha Univaersity offers vocational courses whereas Omega University offers that more reaseach oriented. As a result, many student do not seek job. We just do not know. Furthermore, no data is provided to support the claim that students from Omega University are not getting jobs as compared to the students in Alpha University. A comprehensive study condcuted among the students from both universities might help shed more light on this issue. The results can this study will help evaluate the argument.

In conclusion, the author's argument is not well thought through. The author has provided enough evidence needed to evaluate the argument. In addtion, whatever data is provided lacks depth of detail. The author should provide, at least abovementioned, evidence to seriously consider the argument.