In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author propounds that since the lowering of speed limit has failed, Prunty County should use measure used by Butler county in order to increase the road safety. The author makes this suggestion hastily without making a cogent case. More data is need to make a sound judgment.

Firstly, the author invites us to believe that, by saying the measure taken by Butler country will work for Prunty County, the counties are essentially the same. However, no data is provided to establish this contention. It may be true but we do not know. May be the two counties are different in size, and population. It also may be the case that roads going through butler country do not have same amount of traffic as the Prunty County does. If it true, then then conclusion rendered baseless. Therefore, adapting the method to increase road safety for Prunty County might now work.

In addition, The author claims that the decreasing speed limit has failed and increasing the lane widths and resurfacing road will decrease the amount of accidents. The does not provide enough data to support that claim. There is no relation made between the width of the road and safety. Furthermore, there no evidence given on how the current method of lowering speed limits has failed. Perhaps the author could provide some statistical data before and after the current method was implemented.

Furthermore, the author mentions that there were 25% less accidents in Butler county than five years ago, despite their higher speed limits. But the question is, is 25% a significant amount and does the data from five years ago still valid today? The author should provide relative statistical data to substantiate this claim. It may be the case that 25% decrease is not enough, if the actual number of accidents is still 50 or 100 from 200 or 400 as compared to the number five years ago.

In conclusion, the author has made a unjustified claim without providing sufficient data which would allows the reader to evaluate the argument. The author need to provide substantial amount of data or at least the one mentioned above to support their claim. This will help to strengthen their argument.