We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Learning process is said to be gradual and lifelong. We are gifted with the ability to think and form ideas and opinions. Through these discussions with each other, we evaluate our stance on a particular thought or issue and learn. The statement braoches an impotant issue about the process of learning-Do we learn much more from people who share the same views as us or from people with opposing perspective? I strongly disagree with the statement and firmly believe that we learn much more from the people whose views contradict our own.

One of the many ways to learn something is to ponder upon it, ask question and try to seek answers to these questions. When we engage in a healthy discourse with a person whose views oppose our own, the scope and possibility of learning something new is tremendous. Let us consider an example. Let us assume that two people, with opposing views on the issue of "Global Warming", are having a discourse. These two people, by sharing their own view on the issue, will give each other a new perspective to think about the other side. In addition, regardless of who is right, both of them will be tempted to think about the issue with this new perspective. This type of interaction helps us further our knowledge.

Let us consider another example of ancient Greek and Roman philosophers. These brilliant minds would meet and discuss wide range of issues- from politics to relationships, from economics to metaphysics. If one has had the chance to read Plato or Socrates, one would realize their conversations were mostly the product of their disagreement on the various issues. The contents of their discourse are , even still, relevant. Had it been the case that all of them met and agreed on these topics, there wouldn't have been any discourse, and by implication, we would have missed out on great deal of wisdom.

However, this is not to say, it is absolutely impossible to learn from people whose views align with those of our own. It is quite possible that two or more people with same views can share their convictions with each other and hence further strengthening their own convictions. Although, this may result in strengthening their already held beliefs, this would not actually lead to learning something new. It would be simply a new interpretation for their current beliefs.

In essence, to further our knowledge in any field, a healthy discussion with a person whose views are different from our own is vital. These type of interaction give us various perspectives to think about an issue or about a idea, helping make a well rounded opinion about something and making us a better person.