Some people believe that men and women are equal and so women should be able to do any job they want. Others feel that men and women are not equal and therefore there are certain jobs which are nor suitable for women.

What is your opinion ?

Many believe that men are women are different and possess different abilities. Consequently, there are some jobs that should be done by men alone and some jobs that should be the domain of women. There are, however, many who disagree with previous system of thoughts and believe that men and women are created same; hence, both genders should be able do any job they want. Nevertheless, I believe women should be able to do any job they want, if they meet the required criteria.

First, we see women in almost every field, working toe-to-toe with men, and sometimes even outperform their male counterparts. For example, chancellor of Germany, Angela Merkel, who has done remarkable job at handling many sketchy situations at national and international level. Many more examples like this can be given. Therefore, it is quite right to imply that women can do any job they want, should they choose to do it.

However, we must accept the scientific fact that biologically men and women are different. Implication of this is that jobs where brute force or strength is more important are not well suited for women. For instance, working on an offshore oilrig. In this case, workers not only have to live far away on site in the ocean, but also possess certain physical fitness and strength to perform various tasks.

In my opinion, when it comes to general population, both genders are equal intellectually and physically. However, at the advanced level such as elite athletes biological differences can be very clearly seen. At this level, women will lack behind their male counterpart.

Finally, the issue whether men and women are equal is complex. Experts are debating over this for long time. Should the women choose to work in any field they want? The answer is resounding yes. If they have all required skillset, then there should not be any discrimination based on gender.