The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the memorendum has made a conclusion that in order to increase veiwership and to stop loosing revenue from advertising, the station should restore time devoted to weather and local new. This conclusion is one that hastily made. Although the memerendum seems good, one can see many cracks in the logic of the argument. There are many assumtions made, with little or no evidence. Author of memorendum need to provide more evidence to make his/her argument more cogent.

Author mentions that most of the complaints are regarding the coverage of the local news and weather. The author uses vague terminology to invite the readers to believe that very large number of complaints are recieved or that many people have problem with current program schedule. How many complaints station used get before the change and haw many of them concerned the programming? Also just because there are more complaints, are we to believe that there are no letter praising the stations effort to air/publicize the national news. The authour fails to provide any evidence anout this issue.

The manager also states how the local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts, due the fact that channel has reduced thetime for local weather and news. Are we to believe that this is only reason that local businesse have canceled their contracts. May be the the channel does not have enough viewership and local businesses are not getting the desired effect. It is also likely that businesses have canceled their late night advertisements and have chosen to advertise during the day.

It is likely that local businesses, the ones that canceled their contracts, cant afford to advertise with the channel.Perhaps there is another local channel that has offered a lucrative offer than this station. The author has not provided a single evidence to back this claim. This makes the argument dodgy.

The author/manager of the station has made a hasty conclusion. Author needs to provide more evidence to back up all the claims in the argument. One need to seriously consider this before impleme