Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the statement proposes that since inoculation against cow flu might be fatal to some, it is best not to administer it to people routinely, even if there is chance to save lives of many. The author's argument is based on several unwarranted assumptions, which depend of specific evidence to support them. The deficiencies in the argument need to be addressed before considering the argument seriously.

First, the author states that many lives might be saved if the inoculation against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in affected areas. Here the author fails to provide any data support the presupposition that routine administering of inoculations to all people will be fruitful in fighting the disease. It may be the case that only people working with cows or have cow nearby are affected by disease and they are the ones should be targeted first for administering the inoculations. If this is true then authors suggestion to inoculate all people is disastrous and would weaken the argument. In addition, no data is presents to back up another claim that many lives might be saved. Was there a study conducted that conclusively proved that inoculations will save lives? Furthermore, what is the effectiveness of the inoculations? The term "many lives" is a vague term and should not carry any significance when it comes to matter of lives of people. Above-mentioned evidence should be provided by the author to strengthen.

Second, the author states that there may be a small chance the person administered with inoculation might die. This reason is used to support the conclusion that inoculations should not be permitted. The author, here, uses the term "small possibility" and invites us to believe that administering inoculation regularly will cause more evil than good. The argument might be helped with statistical data such as how many people who were administered inoculation died as a result of inoculation only? Perhaps they succumbed to other medical complexities. We just do not know. A statistical data of how many people were inoculated and how many of them died directly because of the inoculations should done. If it has been done then data must be cited. If many people died as a result of inoculation, then it might strengthen author argument.

Thirdly, Other invites us to believe that administering inoculation is the only way. Perhaps there are ways through which the cow flu can be fought. the author does not present any data for this ass

In conclusion, the author has failed to provide evidence to back up his claims. Thus, it can be said that the argument is not well though, since it lacks the depth of detail necessary to evaluate the argument. The author should consider at least above-mentioned points ans present relevant data to strengthen their argument.