Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Technology is advancing at a pace that has never been seen before in the entire history of mankind. This technological advancement would have been impossible without the inquisitive minds in our society-namely, Scientist and reasearchers. The author of the statement proposes that Scientists and researchers should focus their research on areas that would benefit the maximum number of populous. I agree that many heads working at solving a problem that troubles many would be beneficial to us as a society. However, there is an underlying assumption to which I differ.

Let us consider the example of deadly virus- Variola, also known as Smallpox. This deadly virus, once, wreaked havoc on many communities around the world and killed millions of children and adults. Despite being highly contagious, many field researcher went into these communities to collect samples of various strains of the virus. After working day and night, they eventually found the vaccine to cure the disease, and thus, eradicating the smallpox from the face of the earth. This example shows us how the scientific community works. Hundreds of researchers and scientists, from all over the world, came together and worked for days to solve a problem that had threatened the mankind for thousands of years. The point is, that we can certainly solve many of our current problems, if the scientific community focused their efforts into finding a solution. There are certainly many more examples, where the scientific community concentrated their efforts into solving many of the complex problems.

Many people argue that scientific communities focus on areas such as Space exploration other areas is of no use, since it does not have any tangible use for common man. However, I would argue that, this simply not true. Let us consider an example. We have used, or at least heard of, Velcro. This Velcro is now so common, that we use it in our day to day life. What many do not know that Velcro is product created at NASA for their experiments. Different fields have different problems, but many times the solution to these seemingly indistinguishable problems are similar in nature. The above examples intends to poke at that very point. In essence, there are cases where strict adherence to the statement would hinder the progress of technology and ultimately us as a society.

The gist is that, It would certainly benefit us if the scientific community put more focused efforts to solve the problems of our society. But it would be foolish to assume that research in areas other than those, which directly affect our lives, is of no use. Any advancement in science and technology is ultimately aimed at solving our problems,however trivial or complex they may be.