There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes commited each year. While some think the best way is to use death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measure will be needed.

Discuss Both sides.

It is said that 'to err is to human'. Humans, by their very nature, are flawed, and crimes in our society are outcome of such flaws. The problem of serious crimes and measures to stop them is a complex problem. There are some who think corporal punishment such as death penalty can be used to stop serious crimes, many other disagree.

On the one side, the idea of using death penalty to prevent serious crimes is tempting. The logic behind the notion is simple; perpetrators will be discouraged from committing a crime simply because of fear for their lives. Murderers, rapists, and others of their ilk, guilty of their crimes should be subjected to death penalty. This will not only cleanse society, but also serve as a precedent for others not to commit heinous crimes of similar nature. Nations like Saudi Arabia, where death penalty is given for despicable crimes, has lowest crime rate as compared to many other nations.

On the other side, the idea of death penalty is ghastly one. Human life, in fact any form of life, is precious. Who are we to judge who lives and who dies for what crimes? Death penalty is not the answer to deter perpetrators. Other penalties such life sentence without parole, house arrest also might work. There are many nations, where death penalty is abolished, and yet serious crimes are low: For example, Bhutan. Perhaps we should study and implement similar measures instead of death penalty.

Finally, serious crimes were prevalent in our society in the past and they will be in the future. Consequently, there will be many ideologies on how to deal with this issue. We,

as a society, have the responsibility to come up with better ways to deal with this and progress forward, and not backward.