It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement that compromising one's beliefs is more harmful than adhering to them has some veracity in it. Afterall, what other do we have to define a person? I agree with the author, however, there are some cases where adhering to the certain ideals can be more harmful than compromosing them.

As a person, apart from our physical and intellectual characteristics, we have our own certain ideals and beliefs that set us apart from the next person. It is these ideals that shape us as a person from the beginning and give us identity. Sacrificing our ideals is almost as similar as killing oneself, since it more likely to be detrimental to our identity. Many times because people were reluctant to compromise their ideals in the face of adversity ahs changed our world. Let us take an example of Indian freedom fighter Mr. M.G. Gandhi. During his fight for the freedom of India, he chose to fight the oppresive government with tool of non-violence, whereas there were many who opposed this notion. Futhermore, there were many incidents where he was incarcerated and tortured. Any person would have given their ideals, and yet Mr. Gandhi stayed true to his cause and ideals. Rest is now history. Should he have chosen to compromise his ideals, perhaps India would have still a British colony. There are many examples like these. The point is there are times, when by compromising one's ideals more harm is done than good.

However, this is not to say that one should be completely unrelenting in the pursuit of their beliefs, since there may be more harm in doing so. It is rightfully said that to err is human. Sometimes we misplace our faith in certin ideals, which might be compromised themselves. Lets us look at example of Iranian President Mr. Ahmedinejad. The country of Iran was imposed several rules and regulation against developing nuclear wepon and use of nuclear technology in general due to obvious reason. Not only Mr.Ahmedinejad but also this fellow countrymen feel betrayed by the international community and believed that it is their God given right to pursue Nuclear technology. Although there were many ways to handle this situation,due to the misplaced faith in their beliefs, Iran chose to aggressive stance. The world, now, is facing it's consequences. It is quite possible in many cases, for the greater good some beliefs might have to be compromised.

In conclusion, the statement, although its validity, shoud be taken with pinch of salt. Like explained above there are times when strict adherence to one's beliefs is beneficial. Nevertheless, morbid obsession to strictly follow one's ideals may lead to undesired consequences.