All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Today world's best economies are service industry based. This means most of the companies that exist provide some sort of support to the other companies. The statement suggest that many of the problems face by a company can be solved simply listening to the existing employees rather than hiring outside consultants. There is some veracity in the statement. However, I believe that there are many cases where outside help is beneficial.

Our brains are hardwired in peculiar way. The more we experience something the more likely we are to overlook it. Le us take an example. We drive our car everyday. While we were learning to drive, we had to consciously remember to use the turn signals when turning. However, as we keep practicing or simply driving, it becomes a second nature. Now many of us use turn signal without even having to think about it. This example illustrates that our mind is creature of habit. While experiencing same thing over and over, if it has no significant effect, out mind tend to neglect it. Same thing can be applied to many other things and activities we do. So it is possible for employees to overlook the problem, just because it does not affect them. Although, it might cost some unnecessary expenses to the company. For instance, lighting in the office. Most of us are so used to it that none of can tell the difference if the they are arranged in more efficient manner.

Furthermore, the outside consultants have years have experience of solving various problems in the same domain. If we have to choose a sports car, will you go for a car manufactured by a famous manufacturer, like Ferrari, or some company whose name you have never heard before. It is quite obvious to choose Ferrari, since we know the company has experience in that particular domain for decades. Same can be said about the outside consultants. By the virtue of their experience in managing office efficiently, they can see the problems which the company's employees might have assumed trivial. Moreover, as the outside consultants, they are less likely to have bias or a cavalier attitude towards their work. The point here is hiring consultants is often beneficial to the company in the long term. It can be looked as long term investment.

However, this is not to say that feedback from company's employees is no good. There are times when the many of the problems can be solved by the company within the company itself. For instance, a company realized that electric cost for cooling the offices are increasing. A committee was setup within a company of volunteered employees. They found out that much of glass exterior has only aesthetic purpose and increases the load on cooling system. The suggested changes were made and they successfully managed to cut down the cost. This illustrates that employees can solve the problems without extra expense from the company or even for drastically less rather than hiring outside consultant.

In conclusion, I believe that each case should be evaluated on its own merits. There are situation and problems within company that can be solved by simply setting up a committee. However, many times external help is more beneficial in the long run.