Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The reason that a nations cultural traditions are preserved and genereated in cities does not necessarily reach the conclusion that governments should provide major cities financial support they need. The reason and the claim on which the claim is based is seriously flawed. Hence, I do not agree with it at all.

Firstly, major cities are already thriving without the extra help from the goevernment. Most metropolitan cities have developed businesses,factories along with highly developed infrastructure. Moreover, when tourist from overseas visit a nation, the priority to metropolitan cities is given. The implication is major cities already have enough sources of income that they can manage the city without external financial help from the govenrment. For example, the city of Mumbai, a major city in India, forms upto 25 percent of nations GDP. Now the question one must ask is, does this city, and cities like this one, really need the financial help from government? Any person with reasonable logic would reply nagatively.

Secondly, the reason for the claim is dubious. Quite the contrary to what it states, most of the nation's tradition and cultural heritage is preserved in nation's countriside and not in the cities. For example, major cities in India depend upon service industry as a primary source of income whereas many villages are still agrerian and depend upon traditional sources of income, such as handloom and various arts. Moreover, cuisine of a nation, which is also a part of nations heritage, is best preserved in the countryside as compared to cities, where cuisine is heavily loaded with all sorts of preservatives. The examples above illustrate that countryside and not the major cities help preserve the nations cultural traditions.

Building upon the last example of how villages help preserve cultural traditions, many times, because they are overlooked by the government, residents of these parts of the nation change their traditional businesses such as business of making handmade ornaments due to the lack of funding and support. The point is that many cherished traditions are dying. Should the government provide financial help to such rare family businesses, they are sure to grow. In this way not only a cherished cultural tradition is preseved but also a rare form art is helped to survive.

In conclusion, governments should rather focus on countryside and other small towns rather than major cities becuase they are more likely to preserve cultural traditions and heritage. Financial help from government will definitely help small cities and towns; which in turn will help government itself.