Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing your position, be sure to mention the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

People's behavior is largely determined by forces that are not of their own making.

Behavior can be defined as the response of the organism to external stimulus. Our behavior is, partly, the function of our genetics and more importantly our surroundings. How we behave in certain situation, will largely depend upon our experience with similar situaion in the past. Also the upbringing of the person along with environment in which they grew up plays an important role in shaping up the behavior of the person. Therefore, I strongly agree with the statement that, people's behavior is largely determined by the forced that are not of their own making.

Let's take an exapmple of two kids, Harshal and Scott, playing a game of cricket. During the game, in an unfortunate accident, cricket ball shatters the window of their neighbour. Both kids agree their fault in the situation and tell their parents the truth. While is Harshal is praised for his honesty by his parents, Scott's parents punish Scott for his actions. Even though both kids are subjected to same situation, different outcomes, namely praise and punishment, will shape their behavior. In other words, when met with similar experience in the future, the chances of Harshal being honest are much greater than that of Scott. This example shows, how the upbringing of a person has huge impact on the person's behavior. Clearly, you cannot choose your parents or tell them how to parent you, things of such nature are out of one's control.

Lets take an exapmple of kids, who grew up living in and arround slums. These children are subjected to very cruel and unfortunate thing at a very young age. Many of them grow up to be vulnerable

and end up being used by the society. If they are lucky enough to have parents, who love them and provide them basic education, they end up being a good citizen and making good choices. However, many of them, driven by their basic needs such food and shelter and inability of thier parents to provide for them, end making bad choices, and consequently in jail. This example also illustrates how one's behavior is not in their control but is a fucntion of many external factors, which are out of their control.

However there are exceptions to most generalized statements. This statement is also subjected to such exception. Many individuals, despite their harsh upbringing and abusive environment, end being the best version of themselves, making a name for themselves in the world. But such cases are rarely seen.