Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students — like people in general — prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A nations most important natural resource is its citizens. Education plays a pivotal role inincreasing the quality of the said natural resource. Should the education institutions, such as colleges and universities, have fixed syllabus or should the students be free to choose their own subjects is much debated issue. Many believe that fixed curriculum courses are better to provide clear guidance to students, since students prefer not to make their own decision. I completely disagree with this notion and the reason provided to support it. This essay provides a perspective that is adverse to the one said in prompt.

First, Education institutions like Universities and colleges provide tertiary education. The aim of the tertiary education is to prepare students to function at full capacity in specific domain of various industries. For example, students enrolled for Mechanical engieering course is given knowledge to perfrom well in industries, where technical knowledge about various machinery and fundamental laws of working,related for that specific industry, are necessery. Allowing students to choose their own elective according to their apptitude helps them become highly skilled in that particular field, since they chose the course for which they have passion and aptitude.

In addition, by the time students enroll in college or universities, they are legelly adults. Therefore, even if we agree that specification of required courses migh be helpful, the reason that they are unable to make their own decision is baseless one. Moreover, the students in colleges and unversities are vocal and well aware of their needs and aspirations and how to achieve them. Let us consider an example Elon Musk, the founder of Tesla and SpaceX, two famous companies. Elon made the decision to drop out of college, since the courses he was offered didnt interest him. Now, almost a decade later, he has become a household name and celebrity. There are plenty other examples which prove that students are quite capable of making theor own decisions.

In conclusion, the idea of fixed curriculum is well suited till high school level. However, it doesnt work well at higher levels of education. Students should be able to choose what they want to learn and what skills they acquire in order to succeed in achieving thier career goals.