Some people claim that not enough of waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requierement.

To what extent do you think laws are needen to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is often argued that the amount of rubbish from households recycled is not enough. It was suggested that the only viable solution for the problem is a legal demand. The essay supports that the law may lessen the waste problem, but suggests that this is not the only way to force people to recycle more.

A law which forces people to give their waste for the recycling more often indeed may be very effective, because not all citizens are concerned about the preservation of the environment. Such a law may be the most efficient way to coerce people to take care of the nature, because the requirement cannot be circumvented if the authorities would watch over its realisation. Finland provides a great example. The counry has recently enacted the law which restricts the dumping of different kinds of rubbish (so one should only bring glass to glass, plastic to plastic etc.) in some districts, and there was a great success in nature’s convervation after the law’s beginning.

Nonetheless, obligatory rules are not the only way to cope with the waste issue. The problem might be alleviated if the government would educate and foster people in such a way that they will be deeply concerned by the state of nature and pollutions. If one thinks about the nearest forest’s destiny while dumping a glass bottle with an iron can together, one will likely put the items in appropriate vats, which, in turn, helps to separate the rubbish in future. For instance, in Russia, a lot of social advertisement is being translated via TV and radio, and the amount of waste differentiated in a proper way is increasing every day.

Overall, though the obligatory demand of rubbish recycling is a very effective way to control the waste problem, others methods can be implemented, such as the increasing of people’s concerns about the environment with mass media programms.