Some people claim that public transport should be free of charge, while other disagree.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, many people believe that public transport should be made free of cost to all as more and more commuters are travelling by their private vehicles while some disagree with this context and think that there should be certain charges on this facility.

To start with, public transport is the backbone of every nation. It interconnects various cities, towns and important places of a country. So it requires lots of investment and this is collected through charging fares. Moreover, anything which is free is not valued highly by its countrymen. Also, waivering travel fares will result in financial loss as the government has to pay for the fuel, salaries and many such things. Subsequently, affecting the economy of a nation.

On the other hand, few people argue that public transportation such as buses, railways should be made free of cost as most people use private vehicles for commuting. This argument holds good as most of these enterprises are running in pathetic economic condition. The income generated by them is pretty low and running costs are high. In addition, people think it can be beneficial to weaker sections of society who do not have enough money to pay while moving from one place to another. Another point is that making them absolutely free also helps the country as it has to deal with less traffic chaos.

To conclude, I opine that dispensing public transport completely and making it free is a short sighted approach. Rather a mechanism should be created by the government where the journey prices are at the lowest and revenue generation is highest thereby creating a win-win situation for all.