Some people feel that certain workers like nurses, doctors and teachers are undervalued and should be paid more, especially when other people like film actors or company bosses are paid huge sums of money that are out of proportion to the importance of the work that they do.

How far do you agree?

What criterion should be used to decide how much people are paid?

It is true that certain professionals like doctors, nurses and teachers/scholars are paid less than the movie stars or company bosses. However, no one can deny the significance attachment of doctors with the society, in my opinion the discrimination of income among these professions are because of popularity in the public.

Firstly, to be in the public eye isn’t easy, it requires great commitments, hard work to sustain popularity, it s not true that everybody in the film industry occupy similar recognition, however, only small percentage of those people reached at top level and earn enormous salary and secure luxury life style, for example; Shah Rukh Khan, a well known bollywood star who switched his life after continuous struggle from theatre actor to film star later become king of Bollywood, his current salary is around 20 million.

Secondly, the life of the actors is merely 5 to 10 years, their popularity relies on physical fitness, and the survival in the industry requires immense hard work. For example, Pakistani popular singer of her time had died recently in a poor condition; therefore, the fact of undersized years of job should not be overlooked.

Whereas, professions such as doctors , nurses and teachers are permanent careers, their salaries rises by the passage of time, they do follow life schedule and does nominal effort to justify job demand, however film starts as they gets older their income gets shrink simultaneously.

In conclusion the comparison between two fields is not maintainable, bosses, movie starts and other profession earn on the basis of talent, skills, and academic achievement.