Some people feel that certain workers like nurses, doctors and teachers are undervalued and should be paid more, especially when other people like film actors or company bosses are paid huge sums of money that are out of proportion to the importance of the work that they do.

How far do you agree?

What criteria should be used to decide how much people are paid?

Salary has always been a reliable measure for the individual's success. According to the opinions of some people, there are a number of socially important jobs, such as teachers, doctors and nurses, are underpaid, in contrast to movie stars and high-level managers. Although the value of the first type of workers in undisputable, I claim that earnings of professionals ought to be decided on a free market.

Some professions, namely doctors and teachers, are crucial to any society, since they provide education and healthcare, which are presented among the most basic components of the personal wealth. Therefore, the reward should be proportional to their impact on people lives that are influenced by such workers. This means that their employers, which are usually authorities, must pay at least as much as the average income of a particular area. According to the Guardian report, earnings of teachers in Moscow is only 55 per cent of the mean value for this city, making this profession less attractive. Thus, society ought to ensure a fair reward for people's contribution to the society.

On the other hand, other industries, such as entertainment, is similarly vital for most individuals. Moreover, about 70 per cent of citizens of California claimed that they would rather spend a spear 100 dollars on movie theaters rather than on education. Hence, the financial support of film actors is a conscious decision of the majority, which is a common approach in the capitalistic world. In other words, people decide on what to spend money on, thus, on fair salaries of all workers.

In conclusion, undoubtedly, some professions have a high impact on our lives, but the freedom of economic behaviour that is one of the key components of any wealthy society should be the main criterion in finance distribution.