Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is agreed by some individuals that modern style construction in urban areas should be under government's regulation. Others, however, oppose that project's financial provider must have their right over designing pattern of the building. This essay will depict several interesting ideas from both sides and share my personal opinion about the statement given.

On one hand, it is mentioned by opposite side that the owner of the development should be free to design his own project. Most inventors will definitely agree with the point. It is because they pay for a budget to operate the construction to fit in the way they prefer. In real estate business, Siam Paragon, the largest shopping center in Bangkok, could provide a great instance. If the local authorities declare land use policy that affect their planned development negatively, the operator will either stand for their right, or shut down the project. Therefore, whoever finance a building construction ought to be able to design their plan freely.

On the other hand, it is said that governments shall provide a proper regulation to control the design of the towers in big cities. Without a policy, the town may consist of diverse building pattern which does not illustrate sense of community. Provided there are no legal limitation is this issue, it would contribute to many political, social, and environmental problems to solve. So, they agree that the authority should regulate the pattern and purpose of constructed building.

Personally, I believe that there will be some plausible solution to overcome this issue. In real estate market, there is a project called mixed-use development. This development was first established in the United States to redevelop urban area and create suburb development hub. The survey conducted by ULI suggests that mixed-use area benefits the surrounding community and allows a person who hold the ownership, to use his creativity to make the project pedestrian-oriented and environmentally friendly under the regulation declared by local authorities. it, thereby, is my perspective that government shall allow the owner to design while partly control some issue.

In conclusion, as the argument mentioned earlier will still be a dilemma situation among those who argue. There is a possible way that work out for both views. A planned mixed-use development is that possible solution. With its advantage on surrounding neighborhood under governments' control, the finance provider will be able to generate the synergy inside to work systematically.