Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others, however, believe that young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there is a strong debate on whether the youth should follow their social traditions. While some people assume that the young generation had better follow their nation’s cultures, others believe they reserve the right to make their own choice. I personally think that the youth of today should be given some room to decide on how they want to lead their lives.

On the one hand, there is no denying that traditions have remained an integral part of human life which illustrate the priceless wisdom garnered by ancestors over the ages, and therefore contain many valuable ideas.

For example, in Vietnam, the notion of hard work and determination would lead to success and fulfillment is of great importance regardless of timeline and types of job. In addition, holding firm to the national tradition’s means remaining steadfast in patriotism, which has been long considered a vital component for a prosperous nation. Thus, the youth who are going to be the future of any society, seem to have the responsibility of carrying forward these traditions.

On the other hand, it is understandable why some young people tend to have a lifestyle without following their countries’ traditions. Firstly, some traditional ideas of the old are outdated to younger generations. For instance, the idea related to gender inequality of older times which was justified has become intolerable in today’s world. Secondly, young people have been exposed to conditions that are largely different from the ones that existed in the past. The new environment and the emerging world order need the younger generation to be more creative, adaptive, and able to find its destiny with a new perspective, and the old traditions are not in any way able to cater to aspirations. Hence, young people completely have the right to not follow their countries’ customs and to freely behave as individuals, in order to meet the social needs.

In conclusion, even though both arguments have their own merits, I tend to believe that it should be better to swim against the current to have a better life. Blind imitation from traditions is not acceptable any more. It is the time that young people make their own traditions by making new decisions.