Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more prons to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

The growth in urban populations means more and more people tend to live in

apartments, but there are many who still prefer to live in houses. I think when compared

with apartments, there are more benefits than drawbacks to living in houses.

Houses usually have yards where children can play and small gardens can be maintained.

This makes them very suitable for larger families. In addition, people living in houses often

enjoy better privacy and less noise because there are far fewer neighbours. Nevertheless,

the costs of maintaining a house, from utility bills to air conditioning to security, almost

always exceed those of living in an apartment. This is why even fans of living in houses

tend to have second thoughts when deciding on where to live.

Apartments, on the other hand, are usually safer as most apartment buildings have

guards and CCTV security systems, besides the fact that the many neighbours keep an eye

on each other’s residences. Nevertheless, most apartments have few or no south-facing

windows, resulting in less light penetrating the interior and rendering their residents

prone to depression and vitamin D deficiencies. It is also difficult to customise an

apartment to the needs of a family since any structural changes can potentially affect the

whole building.

I personally value privacy and silence above all other factors when choosing

accommodation. Therefore, I believe a house is a much better place to live, especially for

families with children and the elderly who need more peace and quiet. I also believe most

citizens nowadays, especially the middle class, earn enough to be able to afford the costs of

life in houses.