Some people say that advertisement targeting children may have negative effects on them, and suggest banning such advertisement as a solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, advertisement is all around us, and has a huge influence on our lives. Although many adults can recognize whether some advertisements are misleading or not, it is not easy for kids to distinguish. Therefore, I strongly agree that we should ban those adverts that are linearly aimed at young generations because of the negative impacts on kids.

There are numerous points to support my view. The primary reason for my opinion is that these ads can bring harm to children’s health. To be more specific, many food industries ,especially fast food industries, spend billions of dollars to advertise mostly unhealthy products to children and teens every year. However, those unhealthy foods, such as fried chicken, chocolates, hamburgers, chips and so on, which are incredibly high in fat and sugar, have main responsibility for such ailments as obesity, high blood pressure and diabetes to kids.

Moreover, some advertising companies hire celebrities or use kid’s favorite cartoon characters as advertising strategies to promote their products to children. As a result of these commercial strategies, young generations may urge to purchase some unnecessary items, such as expensive toys, latest electronic devices, newest gadgets and so on, which makes children more likely to be materialistic and extravagant. Furthermore, some ads related to bad things, such as tobacco products, liquor and so on, which catalyze teenagers to consume harmful things. As a result, teens have to suffer on some health ailments.

In conclusion, as all the points mentioned above are taken in to my consideration, I believe the government should regulate advertisements which directly targeted at children, or even ban them.