Many people believe that an effective public transport system is key component of a modern city. Discuss the advantages and the disadvantages.

A convenient public transportation system is significant parts of daily life in cities as there are many people who live in cities do not own private cars, and they relay on public transportation to get around. However, some people claim that the public transport system can bring some drawbacks as well. In this essay, I am going to examine the cons and pros of public transportation.

To begin with, the advantages of public transport are plentiful. The most obvious one is that an effective public transportation system can definitely help reduces traffic congestion in cities. To be more specific, the increasing use of private cars is most responsible for congestion on urban roads. Investing in public transport, such as buses and subways, certainly helps take those cars off the road, and relieves traffic jam in urban area. Another benefit is helping to cut down air pollution in cities. For instance, as the massive increase in personal car use, more emission from car exhausts release toxins into the air in urban area. If people are using public transportation instead of their own cars, it surely helps reduce pollution due to the fact that fewer vehicles hit on the urban roads.

Although there are certainly plenty benefits of public transport system, we should not ignore its downsides. Firstly, public transportation runs on a set schedule which Is not suitable for all the passengers, this can result in a serious loss of time for travelers who must arrive at their destination on time. Secondly, because public transportation follow a preset route, it is not convenient for individuals. For instance, if travelers want to visit a places where is not near public transportation routes, they may need to inquire other private transportation services such as a taxi, or will have to walk some distance to arrive to their final destination.

In conclusion, even though using public transport system sometimes can be inconvenient due to its fixed schedule and routes, passengers should consider its positive effects when they commute in cities.