Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on young children. Do you agree or disagree?

In the past few decades, the pace of change in the development of science and technology is beyond our imagination, and our lives today are greatly influenced by many of the inventions of the modern technology such as computers. Many people, especially young children, who spend a great deal of time using their personal computer everyday. I personally believe that the negative impacts of excessive using computers outweigh its perks due to the following reasons.

To begin with, overuse of computers could lead to social isolation problem to kids. For instance, when children spend too much time on their laptops, they generally reduce the time for playing outside with friends or eat dinner together with the family. Computer time also take away from participating in sports, music, art and other social activities which allow them meet more new people and develop their social and interpersonal skills

Moreover, inappropriate computer use can cause physical problems to those young users. To be specific, someone, who uses the computer for a very long period of time with little or no physical exercise, may suffer from some chronic health conditions such as neck pain, eyestrain, headaches, weight gain or loss and so on. Those health conditions have serious and long term consequence on children.

Furthermore, young kids are likely to learn things from the computers which their parents do not want them to learn. Precisely, while some computer games have educational content, many of the most popular game emphasize negative themes and promote violence. Children, who play those games, are likely to show aggressive behavior, and even imitate the characters they see in games. As a result, the young teens may be considered using violence as an effective way to resolve daily conflicts.

All the things I mentioned above boil down to a conclusion, which is that excessive computer usage, have not only negative effects on young generation’ mental and physical heath, but also social relationships.